top of page

Corona in Belgium and a Friend Leaving

Hello guys,


I thought I'd give an update as I am currently sitting at home due to the government's advisory of social distancing. People are stockpiling just as they are in Canada and we have been getting advertisements by the French Government (because we watch French channels) to wash our hands. Surprisingly enough Belgium is one of the safer countries in Europe at the moment with 689 confirmed cases. That being said, the Belgian government has suspended all classes until the 20th of April, meaning I have a 5-week break ahead of me. Shops have closed and even bars and restaurants have been told to either close or reduce their hours at the least (this is excluding the friteries which will still be open for all the Belgians. Nothing can keep them away from their beloved fries!!!) While this means I have a 5-week break on Europe, I will have to be sticking mostly to the home base. I have made sure to buy plenty of stamps to send letters back home to fill my time. I will have a small amount of school work as my teachers here are not quite familiar with how online schooling works. The trip I planned for Bordeaux has, of course, been cancelled (planned for the week of Easter), but there still hasn't been any news about my school trip to Malta (April 20th). So far, the country has declined all school trips up until March 31st so keeping our hopes high!


I have decided to stay here, but do know of exchange students that will be leaving... Sadly this includes one of my especially close friends, Ingrid. Though in a different grade, we grew close as both of us were experiencing troubles having been thrown into a new culture. She was my lunch date pretty much everyday and I was even lucky enough to have spent a day in Brussels experiencing all the great things that the capital has to offer. She will be heading back to Mexico this Wednesday and my heart will be heavy to know that when I return to school, my friend will not be there. Though I know we will see one another again in the future when we visit each other's countries!


Wishing everyone good health and lots of love from Belgium,

E


48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page